The DRM client devices should be able to update the DRM client through an upgrade process. After the client is updated, it should still be able to use the client certificate that was burned or downloaded before the update. If the DRM client version is upgraded, even if the user forces the client device to revert to its factory settings, the DRM client should remain at the upgraded version.